The Melbourne postcodes going into lockdown

Several suburbs across Victoria will be under tightened lockdown restrictions from tomorrow in an effort to control rising numbers of coronavirus in the state.

The move comes after analysis of test results from the past two weeks identified certain postcodes as a concern with higher chance of COVID-19 infection spreading.

Residents in the following locations will return to Stage 3 restrictions until at least July 29 and will not be allowed to leave their homes for non-essential reasons.

3012 – Brooklyn, Kingsville, Maidstone, Tottenham, West Footscray

3021 – Albanvale, Kealba, Kings Park, St Albans

3032 – Ascot Vale, Highpoint City, Maribyrnong, Travancore

3038 – Keilor Downs, Keilor Lodge, Taylors Lakes, Watergardens

3042 – Airport West, Keilor Park, Niddrie

3046 – Glenroy, Hadfield, Oak Park

3047 – Broadmeadows, Dallas, Jacana

3055 – Brunswick South, Brunswick West, Moonee Vale, Moreland West

3060 – Fawkner

3064 – Craigieburn, Donnybrook, Mickelham, Roxburgh Park, Kalkallo

Victorian Premier Daniel Andrews said the Stage 3 restrictions mean those people living in the above suburbs will be allowed to leave their homes for four reasons only.

Victoria suburbs stay-at-home July 1

"There will only be four reasons that you are permitted to leave your house and only if you really have to," Mr Andrews said.

"For work or school, for care or care giving, for daily exercise, for food and other essentials.

"They are the acceptable reasons to leave but only if you need to."

The reimposed restrictions will take effect from midnight tomorrow night.

Source: 9News

© 2020 Breaking News Today |